THOUGHTS FROM A STARFISH

giftofsight

“Treasure the gift of your sight,” our visually impaired guide wisely advised as he thanked us for allowing him to serve us for the evening.

Two hours back, he had led us into a pitch-dark dining hall for our dinner. The tables were turned at Nox, where the visually impaired led those of us with perfect vision to our seats.

“Here’s the back of your chair,” he said as he held my hand and guided me towards it. Once seated, my friend and I were told where our utensils and glasses were.

The room was in complete darkness. Perhaps the only light I saw were the little red dots from the air-conditioning units. I could not see my friend at all, and for a moment I felt alone.

View original post 803 more words

Leave a Reply

